Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

An Orthodox Wedding Ceremony

It's a Beautiful and Moving Ritual

This short, 2 minute video is part of my new series sharing with you my discoveries of Russia and Crimea, the history, culture, people and events. Since my first trip to Russia in 2016, and subsequently in 2018 and 2019, and having lived here in Yalta for 4.5 years, I have accumulated thousands and thousands of amazing and interesting video clips that have never been seen! I want to share with you now these amazing discoveries that I hope will do a little something to dispel the myths and derogatory characterizations of Russia and the Russian people.

I stumbled upon this wedding way back in November, 2019. As a non-practicing Roman Catholic priest and theologian, I performed many weddings as a young parish priest, but nothing compared to what I witnessed on this chilly, November afternoon in the village of Oreanda in Greater Yalta.

We were so impressed with this ceremony that we stayed for the entire thing. Afterwards, we met with the couple on an high hill overlooking the Black Sea and enjoyed a little reception of sorts. These unexpected, serendipitous encounters, meeting Russians, have been a common occurrence providing lasting memories.

The rituals and liturgies in Russia are long, not like the 50 minute Sunday Catholic masses at 7 am, 8 am, 9, 10 and Noon. That left about ten minutes to clear the parking lot for the next mass. When there were special collections, and sometimes more than one, the liturgy was shortened to 45 minutes. In and out.

I’m no fan of authoritarianism and clericalism, but I have to admit that these ceremonies, even for a non-believer, are beautiful, uplifting, and moving. There is something more sacred and solemn about them. Orthodox Russians have the feeling that they are in God’s presence. The majestic churches, adorned with icons and mosaics, in vast spaces do have a spiritual quality to them.

The fact that there are no benches or pews, means that people stand for the entire service, and sermon at the end. This lends a very informal aspect to the liturgies where people are free to come and go. Where people even talk and greet each other, and where children are free to roam.

Orthodoxy has been the thread that has held Russia together for over a thousand years. Even during the Communist Era, people continued to cling to their faith and beliefs. Since the fall of the Soviet Union in the late 1980’s, the faith has blossomed and magnificent churches and cathedrals have sprung up everywhere.

While not all Russians are “church goers” on a regular basis, almost all of them proclaim to be Christians, and “believers.”

I don’t attend services very often, but when I do I enjoy the beautiful singing and chanting between the priest and the choir, and I enjoy the “atmosphere.” It really is a different and moving experience to attend services in Russia that are overflowing with believers.

I hope you will enjoy these little snippets and glimpses of life in Russia. Please do comment and share.

Discussion about this podcast